Cauliflower + Turmeric + Potato Soup

I wanted to share with you all my FAVORITE soup recipe. I whipped up this soup when I was recovering from my hip surgeries, because it’s just so nourishing & warming! Plus the healing powers of turmeric are the star of the show.

1390319_147274845665494_800880488_n

• 1 medium head of cauliflower, chopped into florets {I used an orange cauliflower from the farmers market for extra color!}
• 2 medium Yukon gold potatoes, washed & diced
• 2 medium shallots, chopped
• 3 cloves of garlic, chopped
• 6-7 cups of bone broth or vegetable stock {you can make your own or find a compliant brand!}
• 1/2 inch fresh turmeric root, sliced {or about 1 tbsp of ground turmeric}
• 3 tbsp coconut oil
• 2 tsp salt
• 1/4 tsp black pepper
• 1/4 tsp dried parsley
• 1/8 tsp dried thyme

In a large soup pot, sautee your chopped garlic + shallots in coconut oil on a medium flame for about 2-3 minutes until fragrant. Add in your chopped potatoes + cauliflower florets + sliced turmeric root + salt & pepper + herbs and stir for another 3-5 minutes. Add about 6-7 cups of broth over the top of the vegetables, or more if you like your soups a little thinner!

Let the mixture come to a boil, then reduce to a simmer until the potatoes & cauliflower are soft {about 10-15 mins}. Use an immersion blender to blend it all together, then enjoy! It’s delicious topped with a bit of coconut cream!

Published by

wholespiritbry

Hi there! My name is Bryanna and I'm a 21 year old nursing student in Los Angeles who belives in simple, clean, and delicious food. I started my instagram (@wholespirit) in the summer of 2015, trying to find something to do while I recovered from two reconstructive hip surgeries for femoroacetabular impingement. I completed my first Whole30 in October 2015, and have since been sharing my Whole30 approved recipes within the instagram community. I thought it was about time that I made a blog so that all my recipes are easily accessible and in one place! I believe food should be be simple, delicious, and not require hours in the kitchen. That's the kind of food you'll find here and I'm so excited to share it with you!

Leave a Reply

