Shepard’s Pie with Cauliflower + Butternut Squash Mash

My mom used to make shepard’s pie a lot when I was growing up, so this is a comfort food dish for me. For this recipe, I used PRE Brands lean grass-fed ground beef and TONS of veggies, which just made one of my favorite childhood dishes even better!

I switched it up from the usual mashed potato topping and used a mash consisting of butternut squash and cauliflower! I think I love it even more than the traditional topping. Plus the high quality of the PRE brands grass-fed ground beef just makes this amazing.


All of this was relatively simple to make, and the best part is that you can assemble it and then throw it in the fridge to bake later, or you can bake it and store it in the fridge as is as part of your week’s meal prep!

 For the cauliflower & butternut squash mash topping:

 

  • 2 cups peeled and diced butternut squash
  • 2 cups cauliflower florets, or about 1/2 a medium head of cauliflower
  • 1 tbsp ghee
  • 2 tbsps coconut cream
  • 1/4 tsp salt & pepper, more to taste

Fill a large saucepan with water and bring to a boil. Add in your cauliflower florets & diced butternut squash, then reduce to a simmer and cover with a lid. Cook until soft, about 15mins.

Then, drain your cauliflower & squash and add them to a food processor {this also works with an immersion blender!}. Add your 1 tbsp of ghee + 2 tbsps coconut cream + salt & pepper and pulse until smooth! Taste and adjust salt and pepper as needed. Set aside in a large bowl or container.

 

For the meat & veggie filling:


  • 1 lbs PRE Brands lean grass-fed ground beef
  • 1.5 cups diced rainbow carrots {or about 4-5 large carrots}
  • 1.5 cups frozen green beans, chopped {I prefer to chop my own, since pre-cut green beans tend to have a lower nutrient value}
  • 1 large or 2 small shallots, sliced & divided
  • 2 garlic gloves, crushed or minced & divided
  • 2 tbsps ghee, divided
  • 1/2 tbsp organic tomato paste
  • 1/2 tbsp Coconut Aminos
  • 1/2 tsp salt & black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp ground rosemary & thyme

I like to begin with the meat. Add 1 tbsp of ghee to a large, flat pan on a medium flame and add half of your shallots + crushed garlic. Cook for 1-2 mins, until fragrant, and then add your ground beef. Season with 1/2 tsp salt & pepper and break into small pieces. Cook until browned, about 5-7mins! Then add to a clean bowl, drain the grease, and set aside.

In the same pan, begin cooking your veggies. Add 1 tbsp of ghee to the pan on a medium flame, and add the remaining half of your shallots and garlic. Cook for 1-2 mins until fragrant, and then add your diced carrots and chopped green beans. I like to give them just a sprinkle of salt & pepper here, then begin stirring. Add both your 1/2 tsps of rosemary & thyme and continue cooking for 5-7 mins until the carrots are slightly soft.

Once your veggies are cooked, add your ground beef back to the pan. Add your 1/2 tbsps of tomato paste & coconut aminos and stir until incorporated. Then remove from the pan and add to a baking dish. I used an 8 x 10 Pyrex dish.

Add your cauliflower & butternut squash mash over the top of the filling and preheat your oven to 375F. Bake for about 30mins, or a little longer until the edges are golden.


Let it sit for 5-1o mins, then serve! This makes about 4 large or 6 small servings.

Published by

wholespiritbry

Hi there! My name is Bryanna and I'm a 21 year old nursing student in Los Angeles who belives in simple, clean, and delicious food. I started my instagram (@wholespirit) in the summer of 2015, trying to find something to do while I recovered from two reconstructive hip surgeries for femoroacetabular impingement. I completed my first Whole30 in October 2015, and have since been sharing my Whole30 approved recipes within the instagram community. I thought it was about time that I made a blog so that all my recipes are easily accessible and in one place! I believe food should be be simple, delicious, and not require hours in the kitchen. That's the kind of food you'll find here and I'm so excited to share it with you!

2 thoughts on “Shepard’s Pie with Cauliflower + Butternut Squash Mash”

  1. I made this last night – doubled the recipe and it was really good – with some left over for lunch. Recommend prepping everything before time to start dinner – took longer to make than I thought. My family loved it – lots of second helpings. Thanks for a yummy recipe! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Yay I’m so happy you and your family liked it! And yes, all the veggie chopping can be one consuming! Especially if you’re doubling! I’ll make a note of that in the recipe. Thank you :)!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

