Beluga Lentil + Sauteed Celery Salad

Here’s one of my first recipe’s that is not Whole 30 approved, but I’m VERY excited to share it! I’ve just recently finished my second round of Whole 30, and since then I’ve been doing a lot of thinking. The Whole 30 has strengthened my digestive system from where is was (intolerant to most things while I recovered from an eating disorder + hip surgery), and now I’m ready to truly incorporate more types of foods into my diet. This includes WAY more plant-based protein, because my body can now handle them and they make me feel amazing.

This lentil salad is a spin-off of one my mom used to make for potlucks. It’s SO simple to make and keeps super well in the fridge (plus it tastes amazing chilled)! All you need is a few ingredients to make this delicious, plant-based salad that will leave you feeling energized and light.


For the lentils:

  • 1 cup black beluga lentils, dry
  • 1 3/4 cups of water (or add a bit more as it cooks if your lentils look dry)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 2 tbsps avocado oil (I used Chosen Foods)
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 shallot, finely chopped
  • 2 dried bay leaves

Add your lentils to a fine strainer and rinse in cold water, then set aside.

In a large pan, add your avocado oil over a medium flame. Add your crushed garlic + chopped shallot and stir well until fragrant and slightly browned, about 1-3mins. Add your salt + pepper, and then add your lentils to the pan.

Stir to incorporate the lentils will your garlic, shallot, and seasonings. Then add your 1 3/4 cups of water and your two bay leaves.

Allow the lentils to come to a boil, then reduce to a simmer and cover the pan with a lid. Simmer for 35-40mins, or until your lentils are firm yet cooked through. Mushy lentils make for a mushy lentil salad!

For the celery:


  • 6-7 large celery stalks, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 1 shallot, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsps avocado oil
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp dried marjoram
  • 1/8 tsp dried tarragon
  • 1/4 tsp dried parsley

While the lentils cook, it’s the perfect time to sautee your celery!

Chop your celery stalks into half-moon pieces. Then heat your avocado in a large pan over a medium-high flame.

Add your crushed garlic + chopped shallot to the pan and stir until fragrant, about 1-3mins. Then add your chopped celery and seasonings.

Continue to stir until the celery is tender, about 7-10 mins.


Then, all you have to do it combine it in one big bowl! Taste for salt & pepper and add as needed. I recommend dressing it with the juice of 1/2 a lemon or a splash of apple cider vinegar. Drizzle a little avocado oil over the top and enjoy this deliciously satisfying plant-based dish.

It also is amazing paired with roasted veggies and OBVIOUSLY avocado!

Published by

wholespiritbry

Hi there! My name is Bryanna and I'm a 21 year old nursing student in Los Angeles who belives in simple, clean, and delicious food. I started my instagram (@wholespirit) in the summer of 2015, trying to find something to do while I recovered from two reconstructive hip surgeries for femoroacetabular impingement. I completed my first Whole30 in October 2015, and have since been sharing my Whole30 approved recipes within the instagram community. I thought it was about time that I made a blog so that all my recipes are easily accessible and in one place! I believe food should be be simple, delicious, and not require hours in the kitchen. That's the kind of food you'll find here and I'm so excited to share it with you!

Leave a Reply

