Rutabaga Puree

One day while roaming Whole Foods, I came across rutabaga! I hadn’t cooked with it before, and I bought some without the slightest idea about what to make! But I got in the kitchen, tackled the rutabaga, and the most delicious purée is the result.

12816815_1553274974970362_297285258_n

• 1 large or 2 small rutabaga
• 2 tbsp ghee
• 2 heaping tbsp coconut cream {leave a can of full fat coconut milk in the fridge overnight and you’ll have coconut cream!}
• 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
• 1/2 tsp salt
• a dash of nutmeg

Wash & roughly chop rutabaga, boiling it until soft {about 10-12 mins}. Then add rutabaga to a food processor while still hot. Add in ghee + seasonings + coconut cream & pulse until creamy! It should make a thick, mouth-watering purée! 😍 It’s the perfect side dish for roasted chicken or ground beef!

1660323_103604533352466_1557436302_n

Published by

wholespiritbry

Hi there! My name is Bryanna and I'm a 21 year old nursing student in Los Angeles who belives in simple, clean, and delicious food. I started my instagram (@wholespirit) in the summer of 2015, trying to find something to do while I recovered from two reconstructive hip surgeries for femoroacetabular impingement. I completed my first Whole30 in October 2015, and have since been sharing my Whole30 approved recipes within the instagram community. I thought it was about time that I made a blog so that all my recipes are easily accessible and in one place! I believe food should be be simple, delicious, and not require hours in the kitchen. That's the kind of food you'll find here and I'm so excited to share it with you!

Leave a comment